TOEFL Essay Checklist

calvin_writing

 

The TOEFL’s writing exam was previously administered as a separate test. Now, the writing section is Section 4 of your TOEFL iBT. It is divided into two sections: Integrated Writing and Independent Writing. The integrated section is writing which is based on reading and listening. You will read a passage on a particular topic, and then you will listen to a lecture on that same topic. During the reading and lecture, you’re able to take notes in order to collect your thoughts when writing. Afterwards, you will be given a question in which you must respond in 150 – 225 words.

The independent section will also be based on a question, but it will require you to give an opinion and justify your argument. The question will ask your opinion on a topic, such as “It is better to grow up with siblings than without. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to develop your essay.” You will have 30 minutes to write this portion. When writing the independent portion, it’s important to remember this essay checklist from English Club:

Essay checklist
Do I have an interesting introductory sentence?
Do I have a thesis?
Does my introduction state the topics that I plan to cover?
Does each paragraph have a topic sentence?
Do I use examples and reasons to support my points?
Is my spelling and punctuation correct?
Do I use simple grammatical structure that I am comfortable with?
Do I use transitional phrases?
Have I covered both sides of an issue fairly?
Did I prove my thesis?
Does my conclusion end with an interesting thought or idea?

3 thoughts on “TOEFL Essay Checklist

Leave a Reply

